the death of a loved one

It is indeed hard to accept. They say the moment we are born, we already started dying. But it is not the dying part of myself is that I am afraid of.

I am not afraid of dying. I am afraid of having a beloved one die.

Today, June 8, We went to Arlington to say our condolonces to Loraine and her family. Her father passed away on June 4. It’s sad and shocking.

Loraine’s father had always been her “mortal enemy” but I asked her one thing while we are in Arlington.

“Have you forgiven him already?”

“Yes. I already did it a long time ago.” Loraine said.

I smiled and had a peace of mind. I am happy for the forgiving part of Loraine. I know it’s difficult to forgive a person for his misdeeds and mistakes but my friend Loraine managed to do it and I salute her for that.

My memories of Loraine’s father is so vague. I rarely talk to him whenever I see him in their house. Whenever he answers the phone, he doesn’t literally answers the phone. He hungs up and makes me feel the urge to say hello first rather than him who is on the other line, the one Im calling.

I only know him personally through Loraine’s stories. Whatever the bad things he has done in his lifetime, I am pretty sure that he also did some good things for other people.

Loraine lost a very special person in her life. The memories may not be that good but I wish her to be the strongest that she can be and I’ll always be here for her as her trusty friend no matter what.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

