looking for a job

It’s only a matter of days before graduation. Almost everybody in my batch seems to be out there looking for a job. Passing resumes here and there. Applying online. Wondering and worrying if there is someone out there, willing to take them as their employee.

I have the same issues. I have the same hopes. I also have the same great dilemma.

At the start of the application, I seem to be very excited to have a job but I realized today that getting a job is not really that easy compared to getting an internship.

Just now, I received an email from a local TV company. They said that they regret to inform me that they were unable to extend an offer for the position of a web writer. I have never been this disappointed in looking for a job. Well, this is my second try in looking for a job and getting a response that is not favorable to me. The first time was for an establishing magazine looking for writers. I passed my resume and writing samples, the chief editor said she will reply as soon as possible but days, weeks and months passed and I heard nothing from her again. And now, a TV company rejects me to be one of them.

Ever since I was a child, I know that writing is the only thing that my family could be proud of me. i know no talent aside from writing. Now, this task of getting a job I want is getting difficult and difficult as each day passes. I want to be someone who can show the world that through writing, we can get everybody to stand up and act for what is right. I want to be someone who not only reports the current events happening around them but to be somebody who also does something to straighten up the wrongdoings of people who chose a crooked path. I want to be an instrument in propagating a good society. I want to write a better history. I want to be a reporter.

When I set my foot in college, I always watch the Lois and Clark American TV series. The main casts are investigative journalists. I know that Superman doesn’t really exist in real life but he is a living idea that proves to us that we can make anything possible, if we’ll only let ourselves do it.

I feel the connection of investigative journalism pulling me towards it. Maybe that is why I’m so attached with investigative journalism because all my life, I’ve been faced with the mysteries and tragedies about life itself. The death of the Romanovs, the death of Princess Diana, the mysterious life of the mermaids (if ever there are real mermaids) and so on. Maybe I am so attached with investigative journalism is because I am hungry for justice all my life.

Every now and then, I also encounter some dilemmas. Am I really where I was supposed to be right now? Do I really belong to the place I belong to right now? Once I want to be a newspaper reporter, then I wanted to be a broadcast reporter. I love fashion and it reflects my wardrobe. I’m thinking that if I become a newspaper reporter, I won’t get to fit in with the way I dress so I considered being a broadcast reporter. Once I also thought of setting aside my investigative aspirations and become a writer for the rich and glamorous life of magazine writers where freebies and other perks and privileges are being given always plus you get to meet big personalities in the entertainment industry. I loved the idea of being a magazine writer but I still wanted to be a writer who writes current event.

Another dilemma I am facing is whether to be a news or features writer. I mean, I can write both but it takes some time for me to write a polished article. I write my news stories in a featurized format having the hanging lead since I love to get my readers wanting for more. In school, I always finish late with my articles. But as some of my friends say, it only takes a while to get the hang of it. Soon enough if I will be able to avail of a job who will let me write 2-3 articles per day on a 3PM deadline, things will be smooth as time passes by. It would be hard at first, just like other things but after some time, it will all be easy and I just hope that I will have the courage to pursue that.

For now, I will not loose hope because I am only one step ahead of the battle. So wish me luck! I know God will provide. 🙂

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to looking for a job

  1. anastasia says:

    i assume the local tv station you were referring here was TV% because i read it in one of your posts. I myself applied there and after an interview then an exam I am now in the dreadful stage of waiting and it’s almost a month already they reached for me..i just wanna ask if they really give rejection mail through email and how long before they gave you that feedback?
    i am pretty confused now and i found this interesting blog of yours aside your trial in the said tv station.
    don’t worry you’re arent alone in the winding road pursuit of career/job..it happened to me after i graduated and i’m experiencing it again after i resigned to my first job.i want a career now than a job..and like you i love to write also ^__^
    never say die!

  2. anastasia says:

    hi… i assume the tv station you were referring here was tv5 because i read it in one of your posts. i applied there. i had an interview then they called me for an exam. after that, it’s almost a month already, i haven’t heard anything from them yet. i just wanna know if they also interviewed you or you took exam and how long you before you got that feedback from them? are they really supposed to email those who didn’t make it?i’m sorry if i bombarded you with these questions.. because it feels dreadful to wait :)..
    your blog caught my attention, aside from the said tv station, i’d gone through with the same or maybe worse job-hunt after i graduated. you’re more positive than i was.. funny thing, i am back again to that episode after i resigned from my first job. but now i’m looking for a career not merely a job and more optimistic than ever.
    i’m an aspiring writer too. i believe in the power of mind through words.
    good skills(instead of good luck). pursue your dreams! Never say die!

Leave a Reply

