riiiing riiiiing

3…2…1

Imagination runs wild whenever the phone rings at this point and time. When all I’ve got is a diploma and an eagerness to have a job, I suppose that you already know what comes next inside this gray matter of mine, “that must be the employer calling.”

This might possibly be one of the most obvious signs of being so depressed and desperate about bagging a job you’ve been meaning to have ever since you studied and have graduated from college. Whenever the phone rings, I am hoping that the employer is at the other end of the line, waiting for me to pick up the phone and offer me the job I applied for. 

This whole jobhunting idea only made me realize that the real world is not really that easy. I’ve been hearing so much about the idea of how difficult it really is to actually get a job but I’m not that satisfied with plain anecdotes from other people and so this time, it’s my anecdote’s turn to prove to me that real world sucks for real.

A ring from some companies really doesn’t give you a job. Many might call but only one will be chosen and the fact that the one you’ve been meaning to call doesn’t formally accept you as their employee yet, you continue on finding a job even if the job description is way out of your league. Employers can’t see the desperation in the employee-wannabe’s faces which is actually sad but I understand that they only hire who they think would be the best person to be in their team because they can’t afford to make mistakes but how? How will they know the real potential of an applicant in just minutes of interview? Sometimes,when I go over the past scenarios of my interviews and exams with the possible employers and I picture myelf out doing the whatnot’s, I’m always having a great comeback as of the timebeing but it’s too late, way too late to answer back the employer with a very witty response that came in just after reminiscing the entire scene. How I wish I could just use my staircase wit in the actual moment I needed it.

Companies not making a callback leaves us hanging by a thread making us feel empty and continuously re-examine ourselves and think about the what-went-wrong and what-am-I-lacking questions. I just hope that, the next time the phone rings, my missing piece would be at the end of the line, wanting to accept the real me with some flaws and imperfections but willing to change me for the betterment of their company and my career because that is what we all need. 

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in what-went-wrong,what-am-i-lacking,job. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

