epic…FAIL

A writer should read one book per week.

A writer should read good books, good writers.

You don’t write quite well. You have a problem with grammar and tenses and accepting you will bring problem to our newspaper.

An editor in chief told me these things this afternoon. I think he did the right thing by saying the right criticisms about me. I think that I really really really need to work on my tenses and grammar now because I admit, it’s my weakness and I should really work on it as soon as possible.

But after all these criticisms he gave me, he told me that he is not discouraging me because I still have a long way to go because my level is the level of most of their senior writers, especially in the news department so he really insists me to read more books, good books and after six months, I could come back to him and apply again. So there’s still hope. At least he told me I’m not hopeless.

For now I am rejected but I promise to improve myself more so that one day, I’ll be worthy of the position.

Good thing is there’s someone who gave me a bit of sunshine in the dark. A colleague of mine told me that I’m a creative writer who should be doing well in magazines than on broadsheet, a good console to hear after all the bad things I heard from a local daily’s EIC.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

