one new friend request

You go online, check your facebook, one new friend request, *excitement heats up*, and then you see the person who wants to be your friend in facebook, and suddenly the excitement turns into amazement because you don’t know who this person is and in what means on Earth does he have to find you in this big world of online social networking.

Facebook friend requests

I currently have 9 “friend” requests. Is it a reason to be happy or not? It depends.

While some people are busy adding both known and unknown friends in their social networking sites to later brag about their four digit number of friends, I perhaps is on the other side of the universe, choosing to prefer my profile as reachable as possible, but only to the ones I really knew.

Now this list of growing number of friend request seems like a one sided relationship because I don’t really know these people. I don’t even remember seeing them in real life. I don’t know whether to be confused or flattered or scared with those Facebook friend invitations I’m getting.

Here’s my take on adding a friend in Facebook, you must either know him/her or want to get to know him/her. If you two doesn’t know each other, you’ll mind writing on that provided space about a nifty introduction just before you hit the “add a friend” button so that your invitation won’t be put to waste, doesn’t it? But these people who add me, they don’t add anything, not even a hi or hello, do you still remember me? I’m your classmate from kindergarten.. things like that. No anything.

I don’t mind getting a few friend requests in Facebook. I can add you as long as I know you. I don’t particularly add people I don’t know because of privacy issues. So, if you know me and want to add me in Facebook, make sure to leave a little something for me because I assure you, I’m not just a snob without a reason at all.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

