feel rejected? you’re not the only one

Although some words are comforting, the end result is still the same, I am rejected.

Today, I just received my long-awaited letter from E.T.P.S. They said I exude professionalism and self-motivation but other applicants seem to be more fit for the position so they just wished me good luck on my job hunting. It was a really heartbreaking moment for me but although it is a rejection letter, I was very thankful to hear about the result of the time I lent with them. Time well spent would be the much appropriate phrase with my experience there because in every journey, there’s always something worth note-taking.

And since this rejection letter had a very big impact on me, I almost lose hope. But I did not digress, instead, I searched for some motivations online and luckily, I found some. I don’t have the right to be down at times like this because the Internet slapped to my face that I am not the only one receiving rejection letters. And so, the mighty hopeful in me outshined the dark and pessimistic side of me.

So after thorough assesment, I wrote some guidelines that might just give me the jackpot job. Here are some tips I learned both online and from personal experience and by posting this online, I hope to help other jobseekers out there, too.

JOB HUNTING TIPS:

Create a comprehensive resume.

Write a cover letter specifically designed for each company you are applying for.

Prepare your portfolio. Include your best works in here.

Make jobhunting your job. Spend more than just “a couple of hours”. Spend a concrete number of hours like 7-8 hours a day.

Be patient in waiting for a call-back.

If there’s no one making a call-back, check your resume, there might be something wrong or something lacking in there.

On your interview day:

Arrive 15 minutes earlier.

Sit properly. Don’t slouch.

Dress appropriately.

Make sure to have clean fingernails.

Give a firm handshake.

Establish an eye contact with the interviewer.

When asked for expected salary, don’t just smile, name your price but be sure that it matches your qualifications. Another option is to give a salary range. If you are a fresh graduate, ask for a fair entry level salary with incentives for good performance. And, adding the word “negotiable” afterwards can work like magic.

Ask intuitive questions. (e.g. What would a typical day on the job be like?, What type of professional development are available  to the staff?) Show the interviewer that you are really interested with the company.

Also ask when would they advise you if you will be hired or not.

Ask for the interviewer’s business card so you can immediately send a thank you letter afterwards.

After the interview:

Send a thank you letter to the interviewer.

Make a follow up call after the interview.

Continue your jobhunt. You don’t know whether that interview would win you a job so you might as well try applying for other companies just in case.

Be patient. Patience will soon enough pay off.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

