When is enough, enough?

When I was a child, I always ask myself on why some adult characters on TV shows doesn’t bother explaining themselves to the one they’re having a conflict with. I always wondered why. Isn’t it simple to just spill the reason and let the other person fully understand you? Doesn’t he realize that by saying the reason, whatever the consequence of saying the truth might be, will not only set him free, but also save their sinking relationship? Is truth not enough?

As a child, it really bothers me to have unanswered questions like these but as time pass me by, I am proud to say that I already have a hint, if not the ultimate answer, to my question.

Yesterday, my Lola was asking me the relation of the TV characters in Imortal (a local TV series here in the Philippines about vampires and werewolves, yes, very twilight-y but I like it). She’s saying that Sam and Mateo have the same father. I said that the two main characters aren’t really related to each other, aside from the fact that they are both vampires. And she told me that I’m wrong because what she is stating is based from what she is seeing in the TV. And without further explaining myself, I just told her, “Trust me. I’m a fan of this show. I know the details very well.” And she just agreed to disagree with me.

With that experience at hand, I realized that adults, they get tired of explaining themselves for whatever reasons or excuses their minds can ever think of. Sometimes you’re just tired, sometimes too lazy, or maybe you just don’t feel like explaining yourself that day. While as a child, you won’t ever get to worry about these things because you see life in its simplest form.

Adults tend to make simple things complex and children tend to make complex things simple. If this is the common flow of things, how can we ever reach the middle ground and when will we ever reach it, if the necessities of life is a continuing hindrance to our goal?

When will enough, be enough?

And this is me, complicating things again. Asking questions, again. Bothering myself, again. It never ends.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

