Tick tock tick tock

“Was that a timebomb?” I asked myself as I saw a co-passenger in the train carefully putting down a device with a digital timer commonly seen in movies.

I waited for a few more seconds. I checked if the device has that ticking sound, even from a distance. I also checked if the timer is on. I’ve dissected every part of the man. Around late 20’s and early 30’s would be his age. He doesn’t seem harmful and even looked very common with his white polo, blue jeans, and white branded rubber shoes. He doesn’t have a bag. He only has that device.

After putting down the device that even has small pieces of box that looked like for pills, he went on for a sleep.

“It could possibly be. If it is, maybe I should leave the train now. But wouldn’t I be selfish? What if I’m wrong? I could be very wrong. Maybe I’ll just go down on the next station. Hmm. No. I might see my beloved there. Maybe the next station will do… If all else fails, I’ll leave it up to faith.”

We passed by the second station, third station, fourth station. Fifth, sixth, seventh, people just came in, not noticing what has been the center of my attention for that whole train ride… Eight, ninth, and tenth. Finally. On the tenth station, the man woke up, grabbed his device and left the train.

I felt a sense of relief. My paranoia proved me wrong. But it was a test of faith in God and in myself.

The experience proved that faith could have either saved me or destroyed me. I might have been killed there, given that I did not trust my instincts. But thankfully, I’m still alive and writing this entry.

Deciding when to believe and when to let go may be hard, but if it’s your time, it will be.

Everything has its own timing. And we just have to believe in it, and sometimes, do something about it.

Luckily for me, I arrived at the eleventh station, my true destination, safe and soundly.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tick tock tick tock

  1. gate2oblivion says:

    Praningerzi. hehe

    • penpenpenpen says:

      Oo! solid. For a while, naisip ko mga dapat gawin at sabihin sa mga importanteng tao sa buhay ko. lol counting my last seconds on Earth. hahahah

Leave a Reply

