Juxtaposed

MRT Ayala
July 9, 2012
Around 10:30 to 11 PM

Two men in the Metro Rail Station (MRT) talked to the world without even saying a word. They sat side by side and let their shirts speak for them.

The man on white shirt:
NEVER
GIVE UP.

The man on black shirt:
I CAN,
BUT I WON’T.

“What a strange, funny, yet nice juxtaposition! Seems like the world is talking to me. I wonder who else have seen it? Hmmm. I want to take a picture. I want it. I want it. I want iiiiiiiiiit,” but I don’t have the courage to match it with.

I brought out my phone, ready to take a picture but I held back. I am aware that the reflection of me taking a photograph of them could be seen on my back, at the glass window of the train, so I’m scared that they might ask why. I’m also scared of the possibility of someone snatching my phone. (Better safe than not)

When I was about to take a picture, the train stopped on the next station and a few men entered. One person, a guy, blocked my view of the guy in white. This person was talking to another guy. The space between them left me a view of my center of attention with something like this:

ER | I CAN
UP. | BUT I WON’T.

Although somehow irritated, I still waited patiently because there could be a slight chance that this guy will move to pave way for my photography.

On the next two stations, the man is still there blocking my view. But I think, even though he’s not there, I would still lack the courage to take a picture.

On the fourth station, the man wearing the black shirt stood up and left. And there it was… my chance down the drain.

I wish I had the right amount of courage at the right time. If only I did, I would already have the perfect picture for this blog entry. But the challenge it left me was… To paint a picture because of the lack of one.

Now I wonder what those words would mean if it was to be applied to me. Hmm. Never give up… I Can, But I Won’t. The first thing that popped in my mind is the very last thing I would want to revive on not giving up again, due to so much pain it has brought me… But maybe sometime. Maybe some other time.

Anyway, my other wish: I wish our minds can save images in JPG form so that I can use it for important purposes.

Oh, wishes.
Oh, regrets.
Oh, staircase wit.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

