Day 1 of 94

Over dinner, me and my office mates were talking about the end of the world prediction by the Mayans on the 21st of December.

That is exactly 94 days from now.

We’ve talked about how fulfilled we are in our lives today; the things we should say or do, like say sorry to past mistakes and make our loved ones feel more loved; the things we want to accomplish in order to be free from regrets before we die, and what would be the exact thing we think we are doing, just as the end of the world is happening right before our eyes.

We’ve also thought of ways on how the Earth will end — volcanic eruption, sinkholes, tsunami, earthquake, falling meteors… Would there be any survivors, just in case? And if so, given that there will be no loved ones who survived, how shall we continue life?

The mere thought is frightening. We’d like to believe that it’s not yet, of course, the end of the world, just like the previous predictions. But in case it is, what shall we do, what can we do… NOW?

And so I’ve thought of creating a pre-apocalyptic blog. It’s main purpose is not to scare, but to produce something meaningful out of an irrational fear. Who knows, in case the end of the world won’t happen, one day I’ll look back at the counted days I’ve documented and smile because I did something about my fear, other than being afraid.

So starting today, Day 1 of 94, I’ll try to document something beautiful, something kind, something good, something that makes me wonder, anything! As long as it’s something that will make me smile one day, I’ll try to write it everyday.

Because living in fears will do me no good and all I have is now, so maybe, I should use it wisely.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in pre-apocalyptic blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

