Day 3 of 94

Singing a note or two

I’ve always loved singing but I’ve always believed that singing was also not for me. I still sing though, despite that belief, hoping that one day I’ll be good at it.

I don’t consider myself as a passionate singer. I’m saving those titles for ones who really deserve it. When someone asks me if I know a certain song, I’d often say No, but when they try to sing it, I’ll change my mind in a snap. That is because I’m more familiar with the lyrics more than the title, and sometimes, even the singer.

So recently, just a few months ago, I joined the chorale in the office. I was really hesitant in joining since I’ve no confidence with my voice but since I want to learn and gain new friends, I joined. And so far, I’m enjoying it.

Earlier today, we practiced Viva La Vida by Coldplay. It’s the first time I’ve had more confidence because the group is low in number. We’re just seven.

In the voice classification I belong to, alto, there’s just the two of us so we need to maximize our voice so that the others won’t overpower us. But each time I do that, I feel like I’m already shouting. I think I need more vocalization and breathing exercise.

So far, so good. I’m looking forward to attain a more acceptable (and melodic) singing voice in the next months. I’m optimistic about it. I know I can do this. But in case not, oh well, then I’ll just go back to my old love –writing.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in pre-apocalyptic blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

