Day 14 of 94

Perks of being a wallflower

For almost two years, I’ve been really excited about all things related to Perks. On purchasing it, reading it, and eventually, watching it on the big screen. I’ve been excited every step of the way. But I also came to a point wherein I delayed that feeling.

I’ve actually had a copy of the book as a gift last Christmas but since I have a pile of other books to read, I’ve set it aside and let three other people read it before me. Until one day, I came to know the exact date it would be showing in the local cinemas, I hurried to read it. But for the past few weeks, I wasn’t able to finish it since I’m busy with other things.

Luckily, my friend Meinard invited me to watch it in two days time. That day is today. And so for the last two days, I’ve set a deadline to myself: finish reading it by Sunday morning and watch it by afternoon.

And nonetheless, I did finish reading the book by lunch and was able to watch it in the afternoon. And I’m happy I did finish the book before watching it. Everything seemed fresh. I was able to relate to every scene in the movie.

Before watching it, I’ve heard a lot of good reviews. People were saying that the movie was actually better than the book itself. But I can’t decide just yet because I loved the intricacy of every character in the book. While in the movie, due to short span of time, the focus was of course, mainly the lead characters.

I’m not saying that the movie wasn’t good at all because to tell you the truth, it really is. It’s a must-see. I just feel that the book and the movie are same and different in a lot of ways. I’m glad that the characters have come into life in the big screen, and that they are more fun, perky, and exciting there than it was in the book but it’s just that I also looked for the poetry moments from the book. Though maybe we can leave it as it is since the two have their own different flavors yet still beautifully identical.

One thing’s for sure though, I love this Chbosky creation and I’m looking forward to seeing and reading more from him.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in pre-apocalyptic blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

