A taste of India

Attending festivals has not been a thing of mine but since trying new things wouldn’t hurt, I’m starting to think and act on a different light.

Earlier I attended the Indian Holi Festival of Colors held in SM Mall of Asia from 11am to 3pm. The event was initiated by Asia Society Philippines, an organization meant to encourage cultural understands and build partnerships among various countries in US and Asia.

20130325-083203.jpg

Wild and happy crowd

What really interested me to join this event was the colors where people spent the activity throwing petals and painting colorful gula powder at each other! After a little research, I made it a point to look like this man I saw from Google:

Raaarrrr!

And this is what I achieved!

20130325-090701.jpg

Sun-kissed skin

Indians celebrate this festival which marks the end of Winter and the coming of Spring. It basically commemorates the triumph of good over bad. And this is the first time it was celebrated in Manila.

For just Php 100 entrance fee, we were bound to have hours of fun and socializing!

Photo by Charlene Cunanan

The entire time, we were either roaming around checking what we could be missing or staying away from sunshine, observing people. All participants seem to be having fun, whether it be kids or kids at heart.

20130325-083256.jpg

Colors here, there, and everywhere!

20130325-083321.jpg

With my buddy, Dave 🙂

There were about more or less, 100 people in the event. A small crowd, I must say. Maybe because it wasn’t promoted that much. Even I was informed only a day ahead and only thru a friend’s link on Facebook.

But as a reward for being spontaneous, there were a few Indians spotted. That made the festival more legit. Hehe!

Now for the food, I’ve tried two:

20130324-195346.jpg

Cream puff look alike

Pana Puri

An explosion of spice and sweetness. A combination of potatoes, onions, chili, mint(?) and some sauce all stuffed inside a crunchy caramel puff looking bread called Puri. Then for garnish, thin stri

ps of fried crackers. Just one bite. Hmmmmmm India in my mouth!

I was first enticed by the presentation of this Indian snack but once I’ve tasted onion in my mouth, I was bound to dislike it forever. I really don’t like onions but for what it’s worth, it would be unfair to dislike something jut because of a percentage of its totality. So, I was thankful for the experience because it somehow gave me a memory worth writing. Of course, it enthralled my senses!

Chicken Samosa

20130325-082319.jpg

No, it’s not empanada 😛

After trying the Pana Puri, I felt a bit hesitant on trying another dish and almost opted to eat the regular cheese flavored french fries instead. But my friend Dave insisted that we should try something new, to which I agreed. And so I tried a safe choice: the Chicken Samosa. Basically, it’s like the Empanada with Chicken inside. What only differs is the shape since Samosa looks like the combination of dumplings and empanada. As for the taste, I guess what makes it special is the spicy green sauce. It feels dry and tastes plain without it so it’s a must.

I hope next time I’ll be able to experience this festival not just here in my native country, but in the country where it originated — India.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Events, Food & Dining. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

