I wanted more (and fortunately got more)

Happiness is being able to feel it and wanting to relive it again and again, even after it is long gone.

I guess that’s what happiness is really all about, well at least for me.

The Script Live in Manila 31 March 2013 Happy Easter!

It’s been four days since I attended The Script’s concert in Smart Araneta Coliseum but the memory still lingers. Actually, the night right after the concert, I had a hard time sleeping because whenever I close my eyes, I can see vivid images of the event. I’m so happy and giddy that I was able to hear them live. It feels surreal. Thankfully, I was able to get some sleep. Not enough to keep me energized for Monday’s work, but still good, nonetheless.

As a music lover, it is a must for me to have a playlist of the songs I love and if it makes me really happy, I will play it again and again until I feel the urge to vomit.

Listening to studio recordings is one thing. Listening to live performances is another.

A day after the concert, I did a playlist of the exact setlist they sung and didn’t stop listening to it until after my day work. I was that euphoric. I wanted to replay it in my mind for N times. This music hangover usually stays for a month or so, and then resurfaces again after I’ve grown tired of hearing the same set of songs from an artist. And then I go on search for a new artist, get addicted, and take it on the side. It’s a cycle.

For most concerts I’ve attended to, farthest seats has always been a first choice. What works for me is whatever works for my budget.

I was a sophomore when I attended an open field concert of My Chemical Romance in Taguig. For that concert, I got a General Admission. The next few concerts I was able to attend to involves Araneta including: Maroon 5, General Admission too. Foster the People, an Upper B. And this, The Script, I also got Upper B. I believe I’m still in the phase wherein I get a little too frugal on spending for concert tickets because I once believed that getting to the concert venue is enough, so no need to spend more just by seating blocks closer to the performers.

But it all changed after that night of the 31st of March, 2013.

Watching The Script perform live last Sunday wherein Danny, the vocalist, joined the crowd more often than once, gave me the feeling of regrets for not buying a much better seat. More than the experience of hearing them live, which is the main purpose of going to concerts, having them near you, with all their sweat and heavy breathings, is already a major bonus you wouldn’t trade for anything else in the world.

Bitin! ‘Cause they have too many good songs that 1hr 20 minutes ain’t enough

A highlight of the concert was when the band drink liquor and then Mark asked the crowd to be honest and that they would really love us if we bring out our cellphones and call our ex boyfriend / girlfriend. The crowd up roared, excited, thrilled, and very enthusiastic for the next song. And suddenly, Danny grabs a phone from the crowd and started singing the drunk dial song, Nothing.

“Still in love but all I heard, was nothing, nothing, nothing.”

Oh my, I just love that song.

Then they sung a few more. How I wish they also sung If You Ever Come Back!

But guess what! Right when we thought that the concert already ended, they did an encore after an encore.

You made us so very happy, The Script 🙂

What really interests me about going to concerts is the crowd, especially when they all sing so loud as if the whole dome serves as their mic. And what I hate about it? The ticket price? No, because the performers deserve the price they tag beside their names. Although I somehow wish I could always afford the seats I like. Heh. What I hate about concerts is the long queue of people waiting outside the venue. I haven’t experienced reserved seating yet so yes, it’s under my nose for things to hate. But I will cross that one out, too. Soon!

But really, if there’s one thing you can’t take away from being seated far away from the performers is this: you’ll be able to take a look at the bigger picture (literally and metaphorically, haha!)

In the future, this will be the good ol’ days

I hope to watch my other favorite foreign acts in the future. That includes Fall Out Boy, OneRepublic, Two Door Cinema Club, PassionPit, The XX, Coldplay, Taylor Swift, Ed Sheeran, and One Direction to name a few.

I’ve never been this excited about going to concerts, really. It’s like I’m paying for the experience of a good memory I can cherish in a lifetime. And I’m happy with it. Thankful, too!

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I wanted more (and fortunately got more)

  1. Yes to more concerts!

Leave a Reply

