Figures

>> Fast forward; life seems hazy.
> Play present; life is steady.
< Play backwards; oh, it makes sense now. If it doesn't, sooner or later, it will too.

~~~~~~

At 4, I learned how bad it hurts to get your knees scraped.

At 6, people who learned about my third name started to call me by my third name.

At 8, I had my first crush, Dean, who looks like Diether Ocampo. Everyday I'm excited to go to school to see him.

At 9, I learned that coup d'etat wasn't really spelled as kudeta.

At 10, I had a classmate who slapped me because, as she said, she's jealous of me having her crush as my best pal. I didn't know what's happening back then, being the late bloomer me.

At 11, I had a hard time pleasing my mom; everything I did was either wrong or wrong. I almost gave up…

At 12, I was asked by a bully in school on whether I think he is liable for doing the crime being accused to him. In an instant, without hesitation, I said I don't. And for a moment, I felt like I've just said two of the most sincere words in my entire life.

At 13, I won a slogan writing contest in school, in which I have only one competitor.

At 14, I ran away from home to feel truly at home.

At 15, I learned that the ones who are closest to you are the ones who can hurt you the most.

At 16, I almost said yes, only to find out days later that he reunited with his old flame.

At 17, I had my doors closed.

At 18, I felt freedom by mere numbers.

At 19, I learned that girls actually like receiving flowers, even if it came from a friend and not a romantic prospect.

At 20, I discovered what I really wanted to do in life and realized that it doesn't coincide with the materialistic standards this world asks for.

At 21, I fell in love.

At 22, I fell apart.

At 23, I travelled, I sung, I wrote — I conquered.

Today, I am 24. I have nothing to ask but I have so much to feel thankful for; and for that I will be grateful.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

