Taxi

I rode a taxi earlier after attending an event.

I talked to the driver and asked how many hours he usually drive his taxi.

“24 hours,”

Huh? Wow. So he’s shifting every other day? Yes.

I asked him if he loves to sing, Filipinos love to sing so I’m expecting a yes…

There was a three second lapse…

“Yes, only when I’m drunk. Hehe”

I also asked if he’s with his family, where they live, how’s life, among other things.

“We’re four in the family: me, my wife, and two kids.”

“My eldest,” he says…. then cuts the sentence halfway to ask me

“How old are you, Ma’am?”

I gave a slight burst of laugh.

“You’re shy of your age, Ma’am? Hehe”

24.

He continues his story and tells ne his elder is slightly older than me. The youngest, on the other hand, is a year younger than me.

In the middle of our conversation, I gave him an envelope with a gift certificate from a local spa house which entitles the holder to an hour of KTV. And oh boy, the look on his eyes from the rearview mirror is priceless.

He told me an instance where another passenger gave him free court side tickets to a PBA (Philippine Basketball Association) game.

“I was also so very happy when she gave me the tickets. You know, we’re still in contact. Lani(?), works for…., she was very kind.”

Amidst the happiness, he also mentioned it was costly because the venue of the game was far from their home.

“Transportation is hard and I also love food so…”

That leisure time of theirs cost them P1000 already, his wife and he. Despite the obvious budget ache, he still smiles.

Then we reached my destination. I asked his name,

“Mang Boy”

“I hope you and your family will have fun in the KTV!”

“Yes, Ma’am, definitely. Thank you!”

Then I closed the door, and left.

IMG_3017.JPG

Meeting strangers is not so strange, after all.

About Shayne Zalameda

Shayne Zalameda is Misstache. She adores eating, traveling, attending events, and watching films. She likes to omit adjectives and is fascinated with ironies. As much as possible, she tries to avoid the word "very". Sometimes she easily forget things. More on http://LeMisstache.com
This entry was posted in World Without Strangers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

